Nicaragua
Nicaragua
Nicaragua has a long history in the Baseball World Cup, hosting it five times and earning five second-place finishes -- the last in 1990. Everth Cabrera, Wilton Lopez and Vicente Padilla are some of the Major Leaguers who have appeared for the Nicaraguan team in the World Baseball Classic.
2016 Qualifiers
Qualifier 2: Mexicali Estadio B-Air
Gm 1 nca
4
5
F/10
Thu, Mar 17
3:30 PM EDT
Thu, Mar 17
12:30 PM PDT
Gm 4 mex
0
11
F/7
Fri, Mar 18
10:30 PM EDT
Fri, Mar 18
7:30 PM PDT
Gm 5 cze
7
6
F/11
Sat, Mar 19
9:00 PM EDT
Sat, Mar 19
6:00 PM PDT
Gm 6 mex
1
12
F/7
Sun, Mar 20
10:00 PM EDT
Sun, Mar 20
7:00 PM PDT

HEADLINES

Viva Mexico: Ticket punched to Classic

Mexico on Sunday emphatically earned its way to its fourth World Baseball Classic next spring, beating Nicaragua by the mercy rule for the second time in three nights, 12-1, in the final game of a four-team qualifier at Estadio B-Air.


Mexico, Nicaragua to decide Classic qualifier

The stage is set for the final game of the World Baseball Classic qualifier at 10 p.m. ET Sunday at Estadio B-Air in Mexicali, and the only thing standing between host Mexico and a fourth trip to next spring's Classic is a team it already has beaten via the mercy rule.


Mexico routs Nicaragua to remain unbeaten

Dodgers slugger Adrian Gonzalez picked up an RBI as Mexico routed Nicaragua, 11-0, on Friday night at Estadio B-Air in Mexicali, Mexico, to earn a spot in Sunday's qualifier final. The game was halted after seven innings due to the Classic's mercy rule.



VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS


2017 WORLD BASEBALL CLASSIC GLOBAL SPONSORS